Party Like A Billionaire

Honey Mask!

faceial

No one deserves to live with acne. The confidence that comes with having clear skin is immeasurable and every morning that I can wake up and not have to put on foundation or cover-up feels like a personal victory. Last week, I wrote an article on the best foods for your face (or more specifically, the best foods to put on your face for clear skin, smooth skin, etc). While my intentional goal was to inspire others to smear avocados and oatmeal on their skin, I inadvertently  created  a desire within myself to use honey as the primary ingredient in a facial mask. BEST DECISION EVER. I’ve used a honey mask 7 out of the last 8 days and my skin looks amazing. Seriously, this stuff has magical powers. My skin is now perpetually soft, the dry skin I usually get in the winter is no more (bye bye moisturizer), my acne scars are slowly fading away, my blackheads are slowly disappearing one by one, and I haven’t had any new impurities pop up on my skin since I first started using this mask. Naturally, as a blogger, I would be remiss to not share my experiences and tell you exactly what I am doing so you too can get my same results.

What I Did

I used makeup remover to get all my makeup off and splashed a little bit of warm water on my face. While you don’t want to have too much water on your face before you apply the honey because you’ll dilute its properties, a little bit of water helps the honey go on smoother and more evenly. In case you’ve never used honey before, (I hadn’t), it’s incredibly, incredibly sticky, and the water helps it go on easier.

Once your face is makeup free and slightly moist with warm water, use your fingertips to rub the honey onto your face. I’ve found that it’s best to squirt honey onto two fingertips and apply the honey to my face in long strokes. (Note: be sure to only put honey on in one direction or you’ll end up with sticky honey all over your face that isn’t evenly applied). You don’t need a heavy coat of honey, just enough to cover the skin will be enough. In general, honey masks should be left on the face for a minimum of 15 minutes in order to yield maximum results, and can be left on for up to half an hour.

What I like to do is put on my honey mask, leave it on for 15 minutes, and take a shower. However, I like to wash my hair before I wash off the mask, that way the hot water can open up my pores and the honey can really be absorbed into my skin for the maximum benefits. Once I’ve been in the shower for at least five minutes, I simply turn my face to the faucet and rinse the honey off. Don’t worry, as sticky as it is going onto the face, the hot water heats the honey up and it practically drips off. (You can also use a washcloth and warm water to get the honey off, I just really like letting the honey get steamed into my pores).

The first two days I did this, the only difference I noticed in my skin was that it was well moisturized and softer. However, it was around the third day that I noticed my skin tone was becoming more even and my face was, in general, much cleaner. For as cheap as honey is, and because you use such a small amount every time you use it for a mask, there’s no reason why you shouldn’t try this, if only for a week. If you don’t think it makes your skin look better, I give you permission to track me down and drown me in honey. Scout’s honor.

(The honey I use is Clover Honey, which I bought for around $4 at my local convenience store)

 

**UPDATE: 1/12/2014: 10 months after posting this article, I’m still using honey to wash my face. I’ve found that to really maximize the effects of honey, it should be left on for anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour (I like to put some honey on and watch a TV show or do some homework). The longer I keep the honey mask on, the more even my skin tone appears, but I haven’t noticed any increased benefits of leaving on a honey mask for more than an hour. As a personal side note, I have skin that dries out very easily and for me, honey works best when I use it for a week, take a week off, then repeat the cycle. While honey is a fantastic natural moisturizer, for people with sensitive skin (like me), honey can be too harsh if used for more than 5-7 days in a row. My suggestion is to try out the honey mask, pay close attention to your skin, and work out a regimen that works best for you!

2 comments on “Honey Mask!

  1. Mia Gordon
    March 6, 2013

    Cool page cheers I personally am a honey fiend (use in all my skin care recipes just about) Feel free to try my recipes too

  2. jenny
    March 16, 2013

    thank you babe i will try this everyday♥

Talk to Me

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2013 by in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , .
